Located at Seven Boathouse Row, the University Barge Club was founded in 1854 by ten members of the freshman class of the University of Pennsylvania. The boathouse was completed in 1871 and was renovated in 1893 to hold eight-man shells.
In the beginning, UBC limited membership to students and alumni of University of Pennsylvania, however, today it boasts a robust masters program open to women and men. UBC is the home of the rowing programs for Chestnut Hill Academy and The Springside School.
The Thomas Eakins Head of the Schuylkill Regatta was begun at UBC in 1971.
Howard Greenberg is the current Club President.
UBC’s blades are royal blue with a wide, vertical, white stripe
down the middle.